Cover your gas, we’re about to get pumped!

 We’re at war! The eyed territory is our pockets, wallets and charge accounts. This enemy for the most part is not from a foreign land. It’s the gouging greed of big oil in bed with the tax hungry, money burning government. How else would you explain forecasts of gas to reach $1.50 (with a report on the what if $1.70 factor) per liter in Toronto, Ontario by the end of May. The story in the U.S. is the same. Lucky for our friends to the south, the average is approximately $1.30 less per gallon.

 I love it, first comes the forecast of the pending increase. Then several test increases with slight pull backs, just to keep us optimistic. Then comes the big warning. A significant rise (.04) at the pumps by the next day, a fast talking worldly economist is always available for comment. The economist shoots a line of B.S. that makes a politician look like a saint. He states shortages here, a decrease in demand there, and don’t forget the foreign unrest. He then finishes with, “this happens every year as we head into the summer driving season with refinery change overs”; spoken like his excuse should give us an “ah ha” moment of understanding.  

 My personal story:

 The economists view doesn’t work. Instead we panic. The lines at the gas pumps build to capacity like fat people at a free buffet. For a moment I joined the crazed gas hound frenzy,  all my usual go-to stations are backed up with at least a 20 – 30 minute wait. I’m embarrassed to say I lost it, the air turned blue (family was in the car), wheels spinning I took off; thankfully I cool down about as fast as I erupted. Two blocks away, I found a gas station that was .02 cents more ($1.339) with only a hand full of cars. I filled the tank to just about 3/4 of a tank ($75.00) and drove home.

 I’m just like everyone else feeling the pinch; we earn the same money year after year with little to no increases. Some how this doesn’t matter, every point of payment just keeps heaping it on; it’s the gas that is the straw that breaks the camels back for me. We need  some kind of recourse, it seems boycott’s don’t work. Here are some suggestions that  may help you. Keep your car maintenance up, check your tire pressure and watch your speed. Find those who keep a lower price, use an independent owner and don’t let your gas get too low forcing you to buy at a higher price. Lastly “get off your gas” walk the shorter distances, those short runs really suck back gas.

 Good luck, we’re all in this together.

 

About Off The Cuff

Hard working, entrepreneurial type with a strong desire to better develop myself spiritually, physically and financially. I'm leaning towards the comedy field for this platform to help develop myself and benefit others. Occasionally I get a good idea, thought or opinion, "Off The Cuff" is my way to share it with you. All the Best.
This entry was posted in Current News Issue, Gas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let Me Know What You Think

