The Noise of Your Toy Steals My Joy

There is nothing better than sitting on the front porch on a calm day. The warmth of the sun on my face, birds chirping and the smell of cut grass. The visual delights are awesome as well; a brilliant blue sky, pink & white tree blossoms, lush green grass with tulips and daffodils in the garden; it’s spring.

Just as I’m about take a sip of my coffee, “wwwwweeeeeerrrrrhhhhrrrraaaaammmmmmm”; I hear an ear-piercing scream of a sport bike as it flies down the road, as if trying to set a new land speed record between stop signs. The birds scatter, I shutter (spilling my coffee); the warm sun seemed cooler and red was the new color I saw . They’re back! You’ve heard the phrase the boys of summer? They’re on the toys of summer; jerks at play! It’s not just the sport bikes. It’s also the loud, whiney, lawnmower sound of the modified exhaust on the cars that some guys think are cool. With no regard for anyone else, these self entitled S.O.Bs race through our neighbourhoods with excessive speed, endangering people and at the very least causing unnecessary noise. Let’s not forget how we encounter these clowns on the highway, weaving through traffic like they’re playing a video game.

 Two years ago I was driving home on a Sunday evening as it was turning dusk. I was driving on the highway, travelling about 120 km per hour (75 Miles per hour). Suddenly a sport bike, I believe it was a Ducati, blew by me. It swerved in front of me, breaking, then popped a wheelie and sped off on one wheel. If he was to crash “c’est la vie”, but involving or causing other innocent drivers to crash or run him over once he’s down, is reckless and inexcusable.  Between the noise and the reckless stunts, it’s enough to make you wish very bad thoughts towards these mindless idiots.  

So outside was too noisy, how about in our own home? Without the addition of the dull reverberating rumble of the base in some jerk’s car, who drives around at 2 AM in the morning my story would not be complete. Really, anytime is aggravating, it’s invasive and so ignorant; I would love to find their car and put an axe to the system. Did I mention how stupid it sounds outside the vehicle with the buzzing and rattling of the various parts on the vehicle. How can this be allowed?  I can say for myself sometimes I’ve had to turn off the radio to focus, especially in bad weather or heavy traffic. These idiots can blast their car stereos, totally oblivious to what’s going on around them. How could they hear the warning of a horn or a siren of an emergency vehicle?

Here is a cool story and I’ll leave the fellow’s real name out of it; we’ll just call him Jimmy.  Jimmy lives on a quiet street, which is a main connector street to a subdivision. There was a vehicle that drove back and forth several times a day, mostly in the night with the music (mainly the base) blasting. On one particular night, Jimmy heard it coming. He had enough and he was prepared. Through a basement window that faced the street, Jimmy had preloaded his paintball gun and was ready. As the vehicle drove by he squeezed the trigger,    “p,p,p,p,p,p,p,p,p,p,p,p,p,p,p,p,p,pop”  Jimmy peppered the car below the windows from the front fender to the rear tail lights. There was bright pink paint splatter dots all down the side of this sky blue car. Between the music and the muffler, the driver didn’t notice a thing. I would have loved to see the look on that dude’s face when he finally saw the carnage. Funny thing, the guy never drove through the neighbourhood with his music booming again. I’m sure after realizing this happen  while he was driving, he wanted to be more alert and maybe hear better!

Well that’s my rant, It’s not the who we are that affects others, it’s how we do it. We’re all in this life together. Be courteous, kind and respectful of others.

About Off The Cuff

Hard working, entrepreneurial type with a strong desire to better develop myself spiritually, physically and financially. I'm leaning towards the comedy field for this platform to help develop myself and benefit others. Occasionally I get a good idea, thought or opinion, "Off The Cuff" is my way to share it with you. All the Best.
This entry was posted in Current News Issue, Funny, Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let Me Know What You Think

