Jimmy, and the GM’s Jewels!

  Do you like animal stories? Well I’ve got several, they include everything from ants to porcupines. This story is about how caring for two cats turned into a great tale. The General Manager of a hotel where I worked, lived at the property. He was a very prim and proper British man (we’ll call him Mr. Prim). He was married with two kids, who each had a cat. Both kids went to private school and his wife was active in the community. They were going away on a two-week family vacation. Knowing that I loved animals, he asked me to care for their cats. It was no big deal. I just had to scoop the litter, feed them, change the water and give them a little attention.  

  They had been gone for a week, and I was well into my duties. While I was in their apartment tending to the cats, for a reason that I can’t remember, I had called down to the concierge desk. “Hello Mr. Prim this is Jimmy” I paused, oh yeah the name shows on the phone. It was Jimmy the bellman who had answered. Jimmy was from Jamaica; a real easy-going guy who was about 43 at the time. When suddenly words popped in my mind and I ran with them. I’m good with voice impressions, so I gave a good impression of Mr. Prim. ” Yes, ah hello Jimmy ah, ah, Mr. Prim here, (deep breath and exhale) I’ve got a spot of trouble. (deep breath and exhale) I was drying off after a shower and, and (deep breath and exhale) one of the cats was just (clear throat) sitting watching me, when suddenly it leapt up and, and, (clear throat) grabbed my balls. (Haaaaaa breathing out) He’s hanging here by his claws and I can’t get it off! (deep breath and exhale) With out hesitation Jimmy responded, “I’ll be right up Mr. Prim”. I could see the picture in my head, Jimmy (who does not like cats or dogs) on his knees in front of Mr. Prim dripping wet, a hand holding on each paw trying to shake Mr. Prims balls free. I died laughing, “I’m sorry Jimmy it’s Me”. “Bumbaclot”(Bumbaclot, the acme of Jamaican swearing, translates literally as “arsewipe”) followed by a (deep breath and exhale of relief). “I knew I had to help, but I didn’t know what I was going to do when I got there”.

  I only wish I had let him come all the way to the room, that would have been the icing on the cake. In our circle of friends, I’m often asked to tell the story about “Jimmy, and the GM’s Jewels!”. To this day we laugh at this stupid story. 

We’re all in this life together: A person’s true character is revealed in how they respond to another’s need.

About Off The Cuff

Hard working, entrepreneurial type with a strong desire to better develop myself spiritually, physically and financially. I'm leaning towards the comedy field for this platform to help develop myself and benefit others. Occasionally I get a good idea, thought or opinion, "Off The Cuff" is my way to share it with you. All the Best.
This entry was posted in Animals, Cats, Comedy, Funny, General Interest, Pets, Toronto, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let Me Know What You Think

